GovernedByUK

Oliver Dowden

Conservative Deputy PM Cabinet MP Wikipedia ↗
Born
1978
Park Street
School
Parmiter's School
State non-selective
University
Trinity Hall
Oxford or Cambridge
In office
6.1 years
Longer than 71% of ministers
OfficeOther workEducation

In government

RS
Appointed by Rishi Sunak
3 posts · 2022–2024
  • Deputy Prime Minister
    Cabinet Deputy PM 2023/04 – 2024/07
  • Secretary of State for the Cabinet Office
    Cabinet Secretary of State 2023/02 – 2024/07
  • Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
    Cabinet Secretary of State 2022/10 – 2024/07
BJ
Appointed by Boris Johnson
4 posts · 2019–2022
  • Minister without Portfolio
    Cabinet Minister of State 2021/09 – 2022/06
  • Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
    Cabinet Secretary of State 2020/02 – 2021/09
  • Minister for the Cabinet Office
    Minister of State 2019/07 – 2020/02
  • Paymaster General
    Minister of State 2019/07 – 2020/02
TM
Appointed by Theresa May
1 post · 2018–2019
  • Minister for Implementation
    Under-Secretary 2018/01 – 2019/07

Career

Before Parliament 4

2004–2007
Role not stated
Conservative Research Department
Political staff / party / think tank / SpAd
2007–2009
Role not stated
Hill & Knowlton
Journalism, media & PR
2009–
Role not stated
Conservative Party
Political staff / party / think tank / SpAd
Undated
special adviser and deputy chief of staff to David Cameron
David Cameron / Conservative Party
Political staff / party / think tank / SpAd

Alongside Parliament 3

2022
advisory role
Caxton Associates LP
Banking, finance & accountancy
2022
advisory role
Pierce Protocols (Heni)
Arts, culture & sport
2024–
advisory role
Caxton Associates LP
Banking, finance & accountancy

After office 10

2025–
advisory role
Pierce Protocols (Heni)
Arts, culture & sport
2025–
advisory role
Francisco Partners Management LP
Banking, finance & accountancy
2025–
Consultant
Francisco Partners
Management consulting
2025–
Strategy Advisor
Heni Limited
Management consulting
2025–
Strategy Adviser
Caxton Associates LP
Management consulting
2025–
Strategic Adviser
Pierce Protocols Limited/Heni Limited
Company management / entrepreneur
2025–
Adviser
Caxton Associates LLP
Company management / entrepreneur
2025–
Political Advisor
IPSE, and Policy Advisor, Caxton Europe Asset Management
Political staff / party / think tank / SpAd
2025–
Consultant
Policy Exchange
Management consulting
2025–
Trustee
Law Family Education Trust
Charity / NGO / campaigning

Voting record

1,676
votes since 2016
0
rebellions on whipped votes (0.0%)
0
rebellions as a minister, from 930 votes
26
free votes, with no party line
Oliver Dowden0.0%
Typical Conservative0.3%
Votes by year
As ministerNot a ministerRebellions
Votes by topic
VotesRebellions

Commons and Lords votes since 2016. Topics are assigned from division titles by keyword rules.

Interests and jobs after office

Outside earnings25
£276,518
Other work £276,518
25 entries
  • Payment received on 01 September 2026 - £15,000.00
    2026-09-17
  • Strategic Adviser - Man Capital LLP — Strategic Adviser
    2026-09-17
  • Mentor - Mentor Hub LLP (The Mentor Hub) — Mentor
    2026-07-22
  • Payment received on 17 June 2026 - £20,000.00
    2026-07-01
  • Payment received on 28 May 2026 - £15,000.00
    2026-06-12
  • Payment received on 08 May 2026 - £10,000.00
    2026-05-26
  • Payment received on 14 April 2026 - £9,017.87
    2026-05-08
  • Payment received on 16 April 2026 - £10,000.00
    2026-05-05
  • Payment received on 13 March 2026 - £12,500.00
    2026-03-27
  • Payment received on 13 March 2026 - £10,000.00
    2026-03-27
  • Payment received on 09 March 2026 - £15,000.00
    2026-03-11
  • Payment received on 06 February 2026 - £10,000.00
    2026-02-17
  • Payment received on 12 January 2026 - £10,000.00
    2026-01-22
  • Payment received on 02 January 2026 - £35,000.00
    2026-01-19
  • Payment received on 15 December 2025 - £10,000.00
    2025-12-20
  • Payment received on 17 November 2025 - £15,000.00
    2025-12-04
  • Payment received on 17 November 2025 - £10,000.00
    2025-12-01
  • Payment received on 08 October 2025 - £25,000.00
    2025-10-28
  • Payment received on 03 October 2025 - £10,000.00
    2025-10-20
  • Payment received on 08 September 2025 - £10,000.00
    2025-09-23
  • Payment received on 26 August 2025 - £15,000.00
    2025-09-04
  • Payment received on 26 August 2025 - £10,000.00
    2025-09-04
  • Strategy Adviser - Francisco Partners Management LP — Strategy Adviser
    2025-07-09
  • Strategy Adviser - Pierce Protocols Limited trading as Heni — Strategy Adviser
    2025-01-09
  • Strategy Adviser - Caxton Associates LLP — Strategy Adviser
    2024-11-19
Gifts & hospitality6
£9,100
  • Fenchurch Advisory Partners LLP£4,915
  • Deep Shah£2,556
  • London Town Group of Companies Limited£759
  • Embassy of the United Arab Emirates£510
  • SKY UK LIMITED£360
6 entries
  • Fenchurch Advisory Partners LLP - £1,414.92
    2026-07-22
  • Embassy of the United Arab Emirates - £510.00
    2026-07-09
  • SKY UK LIMITED - £360.00
    2026-07-01
  • Fenchurch Advisory Partners LLP - £3,500.00
    2026-06-03
  • Deep Shah - £2,556.00
    2025-10-28
  • London Town Group of Companies Limited - £758.59
    2025-10-20
Overseas visits3
3 entries
  • International visit to United Arab Emirates between 27 January 2026 and 30 January 2026
    2026-02-17
  • International visit to United Arab Emirates between 06 December 2025 and 11 December 2025
    2025-12-29
  • International visit to United Arab Emirates between 28 October 2025 and 31 October 2025
    2025-11-18
Other roles3
3 entries
  • Patron to the Israeli Dance Institute. This is an unpaid role.
    2026-07-28
  • Chair of Conservative Friends of India
    2025-05-13
  • A patron of the Peace Hospice, Watford (unpaid).
    2016-07-29

Current Register of Members' Financial Interests only.

Declared jobs after office 8

2025-09-16
Political Advisor
IPSE, and Policy Advisor, Caxton Europe Asset Management
2025-09-16
Consultant
Policy Exchange
2025-09-16
Trustee
Law Family Education Trust
2025-06-01
Consultant
Francisco Partners
2024-08-01
Strategy Advisor
Heni Limited
2024-08-01
Strategy Adviser
Caxton Associates LP
2024-08-01
Strategic Adviser
Pierce Protocols Limited/Heni Limited
2022-09-01
Adviser
Caxton Associates LLP